Skating Fridays

Competition Recap: Part 2 (Dashed Spin)

You all know that I did not skate/score well in last weekend’s competition. Today, I want to take the time to explain what happened with the last spin. You’ll notice on my protocol above that it got called a Change Foot Combination Spin, with a V (missing one position) with an asterisk. I received zero points. Let’s dive deeper to see what happened.

Here is the video of what I executed (thanks to my pairs partner for capturing this while announcing in the music box):

I executed a camel spin, which likely didn’t go for a full 2 revolutions (hence the “V”), then I got into a broken leg sit spin position (the level 1), and then I transition into an upright spin. From there, I switch directions and do a counterclockwise upright spin position.

Prior to this competition, I read and re-read the spin calling clarifications from ISU Communication #2558. According to the 8th spin feature/bullet, it states that a feature is awarded “Both directions immediately following each other in sit, camel, layback or difficult variation of an upright position (except in crossfoot spin).” The adult calling clarifications allows those in Gold and below to execute an upright position and have it counted.

The way my spin coach and I interpreted this is that we could execute a normal combination spin (like what I did in the video) and then execute an upright spin in the other direction and get it counted as a feature. We followed the rules and had both of them executed one right after the other.

However, you can see that this got called as Change Foot combination spin, and because I had already executed on earlier in the program, this got deemed invalid (you cannot execute two spins with the same coding).

I contested the dashed element after my event and this is what I learned after chatting with the technical panel:

  • Technically, I switched feet. I skated an upright spin on my right foot and then executed an upright on my left foot. Because I switched feet, it would be considered a change foot. Therefore, I got the CCoSp as the code for the spin. Because I had already executed a CCoSp earlier, my spin would receive no value (you cannot execute two spins with the same code).
  • Had I left off the counterclockwise spin, my final spin would have counted and not received a dash. Essentially, I was getting penalized for doing something that we thought would earn positive GOE (and a feature in Gold levels and below).
  • If a skater executes an USp one direction and immediately steps into an USp the other direction, the final spin will be called a CUSp1. You’d follow the same logic for a SSp and a CSp (quick note: USp = upright spin; SSp = sit spin; CSp = camel spin).

What I found frustrating is that the calling clarifications and the ISU communication don’t explicitly state that this spin feature will automatically result in a CHANGE FOOT code for the spin and is considered a CHANGE FOOT SPIN. The way it’s written is unclear, and my spin coach and I obviously misinterpreted this rule.

Now that I’ve learned about this rule, my goal is to educate other skaters about this rule. I plan on reaching out to the Adult Skating Committee and letting them know that we should provide further clarification on this so no other skaters get penalized the way that I did. I’m happy to be the guinea pig so that others can learn from my mistake.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *